Flesh

No ring.

So I’m for the taking?
A mere selection
from your inspection
lacking
introspection
just a choice
from the many females you see?

I see.

But wait
You claim to see
yet you’re still
blind to me.
I thought you knew
but now
I really don’t think
you do.

You see
my finger may be
vacant
It may be
void
of the gold band
a token that I have
a man
but
I’m not just
flesh for you to
pick and choose
for your liking.

True.

I’m of flesh
a mesh of
skin and bone
with a huge
clot of a flesh
beating within me.
And as fragile as it may be
that pumping lump
is independently
and significantly
delicate

Flesh
that you can’t
simply choose
for that
flesh
has to choose
you.
And on this occasion
it’s not saying
I do.

© LaYinka Sanni, December 2011

You can find the audio version right here.

One thought on “Flesh

  1. Pingback: Flesh (audio) « From Tuesday

Share your thoughts!

