Muffled Silence

Hands cupped over my ears from fear of losing all ability to hear. Deafening – the silence that suffocates me, a thousand beatings to my eardrums slamming a beat that outraces my heart’s tempo. The caller shrills, lungs screaming for just a little air, a little room, a little respite from the crushing of her pain. She grips me, hands tied behind her back as he looks on with a smirk sliced across his face. I spin with frantic fury, throwing the words of her sorrow to a world with fingers stuck in its ears.

© LaYinka Sanni, January 2012

A free writing piece, unstructured and unedited.

3 thoughts on “Muffled Silence

Share your thoughts!

