Writing of Happiness

image

They tell me to write of happiness
so I tell them how I bit my lip
when time wouldn’t stop ticking
as I burned rubber to meet you.

They tell me to write of happiness
so I tell them how the pen slipped
as I signed my name on the ivory
sheet saying I’m to be yours.

They tell me to write of happiness
so I them of the squeeze of relief
when His blessing descended
and our fingers could finally touch.

They tell me to write of happiness
so I tell them of the palpitations
the hand wringing and clock watching
to burn your image to my heart again.

They tell me to write of happiness
so I tell them of this waiting
its sour sweetness of closeness
brought by distance, longing, and tears.

They ask me why I write of sadness
so I tell them of this newness
the unfamiliar sounds of joy
a new tune for this heart to dance to.

And so when they ask me about happiness
I smile, and my eyes tell them
that it’s new and related to you.

© LaYinka Sanni, January 2014.

Share your thoughts!

